Shoes (normally found on a surface or on feet)

strangely hang on wire above a street.

Could hanging shoes be a warning or a message?

Minds are what these shoes could mess with.

Maybe they’re part of a legend.

They could be a symbol of a change, departure, or end.

Perhaps they mark territory (more so if they have scent).

Wire over street is where lost shoes could’ve went…

***

National Hanging Out Day (19th of April)

reminds me of these thoughts (in this post: they’re its staple).

This poem Shoes was in a Milpitas Post issue;

the memory of my poem still does continue.

And while I did not submit its last 2 italic sentences to Milpitas Post,

part of me wishes that I did. They can feel like a ghost.

4 thoughts on “Shoes (normally found on a surface or on feet)

    1. Whoa. This is also the first time I’ve heard of that reason. I don’t know who came up with that. Maybe drug deals being tied to hanging shoes on wire might translate to and/or suggest thoughts of getting kicks, getting high, getting wired, and lacing/laced drugs. Liking your reaction got me thinking more. Thank you Melissa.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment